Zine Orgy 4Play

Dace (3)

Created a new zine for Zine Orgy 4Play called “Pagsasampay.” They are sketches and snippets of a fictional character’s childhood. Lately, I’ve been creating zines that are not strictly “literary” or may not be categorized as strictly fiction and poetry. Just a bunch of recording and notes like my previous “Tagu-taguan” zine.

IMG_2620

I called the writings inside “nanay notes.” Notes are brief recordings of facts to aid memory. It’s a personal project that allows me to record, through writing and doodling, my son’s amusing behavior and language.

My son and I made the cover art together. Most of the afternoons, we go out in the street to play. We gather leaves, sand, stones and things that we find interesting. Sometimes, we’ll shift from one activity to the next. The “art work” demonstrates that “shifting.” He suddenly thought of painting while we were still playing with malunggay leaves. So I thought of combining these elements that are part of our afternoon play. So we combined sand, rocks, dried leaves and stalks with paint.

Leave a Reply

