Creative Writing and Zine-Making Workshop

Here are photos from the 3-day Creative Writing workshop for teachers. I met Special Program in the Arts (SPA) teachers from Visayas and Mindanao. We tried to come up with zines and I shared some of the game-based writing I do in class.

On the night of our culminating activity, a Muslim teacher removed her hijab so I can bring it home. I know that I did not deserve it but I took it. I am deeply honored and moved by the teachers’ openness, kindness and cooperation. Always, I do not feel like the word “resource speaker” suits me because really, I am just sharing what I do in class and the activities my students push me to create. Always, I know that these teachers are equally passionate, competent and dedicated. (Special mention to Prof MJ Gabayeron for the photos). Click HERE to view some video clips from the workshop.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

