Zine Orgy 3

img_3922

Last week, I told my students that we are going to participate in a small expo where they may sell chapbooks. The Grade 9 students have been making chapbooks for three years now and this is the second chapbook by my Grade 8 students. It is, however, our first time to reproduce them and join the Los Banos community dedicated to promoting and helping independent and self-published creators.

The day before the expo, we were busy preparing for our Poetry Reading night so we were only able to reproduce hours before the event. The event is called Zine Orgy founded by Asshuls and Magpies. It is actually their third year to hold this amazing initiative. Above are my Grade 8 and 9 students printing the pages of their chapbook one by one, cutting and stapling them!

Look at our table! We decided to use the blank ticket concept, where buyers may pay according to how much they are willing to pay. It was an exhilarating experience for me as it has always been my dream to bring my students to a small expo (I’m a fan of BLTX and was able to attend Zine Orgy 2). My teacher concern with small expos in Manila is it’s risky to bring minor students (as young as 11) to an event (2-3 hours away from our school) that begins at 8:00 PM. Thanks to the organizes of this event for making it possible and accessible to South Luzon creators (and to Christian Tablazon for the heads-up and invitation). Oh, The Wordsmiths also performed! Here is a video I made about it.

15195878_1391536507523578_984721485139152597_o

Leave a Reply

