Jacinto Chronicles III

I wanted to keep recording anecdotes about my son but sometimes, a sketch is enough.

screen-shot-2016-10-13-at-4-55-14-am

That sketch was about a Saturday when I brought my son to my grad school classes. I wanted to record how he ran wild around the park wearing only his jeans! It was 12:30 in the afternoon, his shirt was drenched in sweat so I had to remove it.

The next anecdote is about this one day when almost all my students competed for the Division Press Con. Only three students were left so I brought Jacinto to work. I planned to hold a short discussion on the odes and elegies I gave them the day before. Before the discussion, I asked my students to freewrite a bit. While they were freewriting, Jacinto was delivering a lecture or (telling a story) on “Magic Soldiers.” It’s hard to tell because the only comprehensible words were magic and soldier, hence the title. I was able to record some of it on my laptop’s camera. Then, we watched Spike Jonze’s “Where the Wild Things Are.” Before we did, I said a few things about the film and Maurice Sendak’s picture book. My son stood beside me and started imitating the words and phrases he could catch until he said, “Nanay, alis!” because he wanted to do the introduction by himself. After watching the movie, we went down to have Chilled Taho, Vanilla Ice Cream with Marshmallow and Mixed Berries Ice Cream at Ginhawa Cafe within UPLB’s Freedom Park.

This next sketch is a recording of a few of Angeles, Pampanga’s delicacies that I was able to taste. Thanks to the city’s Tourism Office!

screen-shot-2016-10-13-at-5-09-27-am

Leave a Reply

