Today

Before lunch I was thinking of the word masarap and how it applies to my life. Everything feels and tastes delicious including my packed lunch, updating my syllabi, conversations with my husband as we travel to work, my morning ritual with our son, the inside jokes with my colleagues.

Before finally reaching home, we were stuck in heavy heavy traffic because a truck had to be pulled away from the damaged houses. This morning, this ten-wheeler truck lost its break, colliding with seven other vehicles and a string of homes near the road.

Before my son unlatched from my right breast, I learned that Maya Angelou unlatched from this world.

Leave a Reply

